Monday’s Kick-Ass Prompt of the Week (KAPOW)

The last post had to do with dilemmas common to kids and those for whom they are the target audience.  This week’s KAPOW challenge is to write a first person piece in the voice of a child.  Pick an age from barely-able-to-talk (“Waaah, waaah, num, num, num.” won’t cut it) to eighteen years old.  The main character may be male, female or in the case of an alien, of indeterminate gender.

If you decide to write a piece for the prompt and post it to your blog, please let me know about it in a comment, or post the piece itself in a comment.  I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with.  Comments are appreciated.  Kind critique is also appreciated.

 =======

COOKIE CURE

by C J Gorden

My cousin and I were playing house.  She’s one year younger than I am so I gave her my favorite dolly from Christmas last year.  Just because I can’t find her clothes and one eye won’t open doesn’t mean she isn’t a good dolly.  But my ugly cousin just dropped her and stared at me with her bottom lip out in that way that always means trouble.  All of a sudden she reached out and grabbed the doll I was holding, right out of my hand.  “Hey!  That’s my Barbie!  I gave you a dolly.”

She held the Barbie behind her back and smiled at me, but it wasn’t even funny.  “You play with it then,” she said.  “I get the Barbie.”

I scrunched up my face so I’d look real mean.  “That’s my Barbie.  Give her back.  I don’t want to play with you any more.”  I stepped a little closer.  I’m bigger than her.

“Girls,” Mommy said from the kitchen, “do you want to help me make cookies?”

We stared at each other and our eyes and mouths popped wide open we were so excited.  Barbie hit the floor and we raced to the kitchen to pull chairs up to the counter.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fay Moore
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 10:32:04

    I like this challenge because it will be hard for me. My brain rarely thinks as a child, although some close relatives would argue that point. I’ll give it a try and let you know how it turns out.

    Reply

  2. Fay Moore
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 11:25:37

    August 8 @ 8:08 AM my response to your prompt gets posted on my blog. Please come take a peek and let me know what you think. Thanks again for the challenge.

    Reply

    • C J Gorden
      Aug 04, 2012 @ 19:43:47

      Thank you Fay. Some of the prompts are harder for me than others. Having raised two daughters who are two years apart and now having two four- and two-year-old granddaughters in the house, this one wasn’t such a stretch. I’ve really enjoyed your prompts also, but I’ve been chicken to try one. I’ll have to remedy that. The thing I like about prompts is I find myself coming up with stories or poems I wouldn’t normally have tackled. Stretching those creative muscles. I can’t wait to see your response.

      Reply

      • Fay Moore
        Aug 05, 2012 @ 06:43:36

        Just as you said, prompts help you pull something from inside that you didn’t know was there. I’m up to about 20 shorties now because of prompts. My goal is to collect 100 by December 1, edit and e-publish the collection by January 1. This blog is my accountability group. If I say it here, I feel I should make it so. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

        And try one of the song prompts. Close you eyes and listen to the song three or four times in a row. See what pops into your head. No need for fear; no one else will ever know unless you tell them. :-)

      • Fay Moore
        Aug 08, 2012 @ 08:16:35

        My response to your KAPOW is up. Take a peek and give me a critique.

      • C J Gorden
        Aug 08, 2012 @ 18:03:01

        I enjoyed your response to my prompt so much I was compelled to try your last song prompt. It was difficult for me – way out of my comfort zone – but a rewarding experience none the less.

  3. Trackback: Response to C. J. Gorden’s KAPOW « Fay Moore: I Want To Be a Writer

Talk to me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

