Monday’s Kick-Ass Prompt of the Week (KAPOW)

I’m late again.  Had another bout with some kind of bug.  Feeling a lot better today and determined to catch up.  In lieu of my own writing prompt, I’m going to pass along a prompt from another blogger.  She shares her words at Fay Moore: I Want To Be a Writer.

Fay offers up music prompts, something totally out of the realm of my experience.  I have been a little chicken to try one but have decided since she responded to my last KAPOW prompt, it is time to put on my big girl panties and do it.

The prompt song is “Lightening Crashes” by Live.  It is not the kind of music I usually listen to so it was a stretch in every way.  It is an intense, ethereal song with a universal premise.  I considered writing poetry, but since the lyrics are poetic, it felt like I’d be butting heads with the lyricists over their own song.  So I went with poetic prose.  It was an eye opening experience and unlike anything I’ve written to date.  Thank you, Fay!

If you decide to write a piece for the prompt and post it to your blog, please let me know about it in a comment, or post the piece itself in a comment.  I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with.  Comments are appreciated.  Kind critique is also appreciated.

 

REBIRTH

by C J Gorden

Tympanic rolls of thunder rumble low over the dying day as dark, roiling clouds connect with bursts of blinding light to the waiting Earth.  A lone angel weeps.  Her tears renew the life below and her wails grieve the losses of the day and the dying of the light.

With a pervasive howl a cleansing wind sweeps over and around, above and below, drying the angel’s tears while down below, cradled in the Earth’s embrace, an old woman breathes her last as a new baby takes a wailing first breath, echoing the dying of the day and the rebirth of a new dawn.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Samir
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 01:27:36

    Great use of rhythm and alliteration. Vivid.

    Only thing not working for me is the first word ‘tympanic’

    Good stuff :-)

    Reply

  2. C J Gorden
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 13:13:54

    Thank you Samir. I struggled over that very word more than anything else in the piece. I was afraid it might not work, but it was the first word I wrote, then I took it out, but I wanted it back so I looked it up to make sure I was using it correctly. I found a reference at http://useful_english.enacademic.com/137975/tympanic#sel= that cited this quote: “a tympanic roll of steady artillery — P.S.Wolff.” Yes! I kept it. My visual was a pair of tympani, or kettledrums, and those big, fuzzy drumstick heads that make them sound like rolling thunder. It’s amazing to me how attached I can be to a word that I’ll go to such lengths to use it. Heh heh heh.

    Reply

Talk to me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

