Getting back in the saddle

I feel bad that I haven’t had the wherewithal to post lately.  First, my desktop computer bit the dust.  <sigh>  I really miss Windows XP.  Now that I think about it, I still miss some things about Windows 98, too.  The good news is the laptop I inherited from my eldest daughter doesn’t have a bad motherboard after all!  It had a bad cord.  Who knew!  I’m really glad that I’m using it full-time now, and I also got a netbook so I can tote my work around with me.  I got a netbook because it’s smaller and lighter.  Right.  I think I need to start working out again.  It doesn’t seem to weigh much when I cart it from room to room, but when I throw it in my purse, I swear it gains five pounds.  Ugh.  But I’m determined; where I go, it goes.

Second, my brain bit the dust.  It was a minor dust bite, but scary none the less.  My blood pressure was high enough I could count my pulse through my vision on occasion, and also hear my pulse when I woke up sometimes.  I gave myself a mental note to check that out the next time I went to the doctor.  Then I got a sinus headache.  After a few days that was accompanied by a headache that wanted to take the top of my head off periodically.  I never get headaches, so I don’t deal with them well.  I was shooting the breeze with my friend in the car on the way to take the desktop computer to the techs, telling her about my dang headache and I started having trouble finding the words to say what I wanted.  It was a struggle to get out two or three words at a time.  It was frustrating.  It was unnerving.  Within fifteen or twenty minutes, my decongestant and some Tylenol kicked in, my headache went away and my aphasia went with it.  My friend wanted me to go to the emergency room.  Instead I made an appointment with my doctor a couple of days later.  New blood pressure meds were driving up my blood sugar levels, which I’ve been able to control with diet until now.  So it’s on to more testing and trying different meds.

The bottom line is, dealing with the aphasia, the high blood pressure, blood sugar problems, muzzyheadedness from the meds and a general malaise, my creativity levels have been at an all-time low.  Luckily I notice very little after effects from the aphasia, and my thinking ability seems to be coming back also.  Yay!

I’ve been feeling kind of like I did when I was younger, and found myself flat on my back in the dirt, looking up at the horse I had been on a few seconds before.  Once I was sure I wasn’t broken, I dusted myself off and climbed aboard again, a little sore but perhaps a little smarter.  I did love to ride – fast, over obstacles and bareback.  Now I love to write – fast, overcoming obstacles and usually by the seat of my pants.

Meanwhile, that YA vampire story idea that was inspired by the bloodclot red fingernail polish has been percolating amid the mist in my brain and is about ready to flow out my fingers and onto my laptop screen.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. sinusitis treatment
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 10:10:23

    Hey $author,

    You have a very fantastic site. I really enjoyed surfing it. Please keep up the fantastic work. I have asked my facebook friends to visit this website without much delay. Also, you are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and sit up for seeking more of your excellent information. Additionally, I’ve shared your web site in my web 2.0 networks! Thanks a lot. $author.

    Reply

Talk to me.

