I’m a winner!

Yes, I am a winner – at least according to NaNoWriMo.  Again, the link is on my Resources page.  What that means is that I wrote at least 50,000 words during the month of November.  My total wordcount, validated on the NaNoWriMo site on November 30 was 50,432 words.  What that means on a material level is that I get to print a winner’s certificate with my name on it and my (working) novel title, which is Debut.  I also get to buy a NaNoWriMo winner’s tee-shirt.

On a personal level, it means I finally got out the bare bones of an entire novel that promises to be the beginning of a series.  There are still a number of things that need attention, like character names – I have about six that start with ‘C’.  I ended up with a glossary of foreign terms.  One of my characters is from France, so I have several French terms, one Welsh Gaelic, a couple of Turkish and of all things, some Latin.  I spent a lot of unforeseen time in Google Translator, and near the end found I needed to research the French revolution.  Whatever I had learned about it in school has gone by the wayside.  Also, I found putting a word in the translator and seeing what it is in French (or anything else) is not enough.  Sometimes if you swap it to translate French to English and put in the French word you were given, the meaning is not exactly what you had in mind.  Before I finish editing and rewriting I need to find someone who speaks French fluently to let me know where my usage is anywhere from a little off the mark to downright absurd.  What I have now will do for the time being.

I have to say I am a little surprised at my gut-level reaction to completing and winning NaNoWriMo.  I had a minor melt-down.  I cried a little, and slept about ten hours a night for the next two nights.  I’m finally getting back to ‘real’ life.  For the better part of my waking hours for the entire month of November, I was writing, working the translator, researching associated history and mulling plot issues.  In order to have some alone time just for writing I often got up between four and six in the morning.  I moved my laptop from my little office cubbyhole to the kitchen table whenever necessary so I could babysit grandkids, eat and stay on speaking terms with the rest of the family.  I am still flummoxed about how supportive they all were.  It went above and beyond.  When the month was over and I’d successfully completed what I’d set out to do, I was at a loss.  I printed what I had written and put it in a drawer.  The plan is to get it out in a week or so, when I feel I’ve attained enough distance to be objective, then get back to it.  There was nothing available to obsess on.  I wondered what published career authors did when they got to this point.  Aha!  This is why they have more than one project on the burner.  If I remember correctly, Stephen King, in his book, On Writing said he put a story in a drawer for six months while he worked on other projects.  Wow.  I’d better get busy if I’m going to have that many projects to fall back on while those awaiting a return visit are ageing.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ernie
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 08:04:19

    Congratulations Carol, you did it! There is no way I could get something like that done.

    Reply

  2. WhitneyCarter
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 11:40:31

    Kudos!

    Reply

Talk to me.

