Resolutions or Recriminations?

Getting in my second December blog post under the wire.  Things have been hectic as usual during the holiday season, which as also usual has raised havoc with my good intentions.  Did I say good intentions?  Oh man, for me, even alluding to good intentions is like delivering the kiss of death to my plans and my goals.  Good intentions are the lamest of the lame regarding excuses.  In all honesty, my full speed ahead ran aground.

Well, there’s a solution for that.  Trying to stick to the same metaphor, I need to push my boat back afloat and into the creative stream, then jump aboard before it floats away without me.

I’ve mentioned before that I’ve often visited authors’ sites and listened to their advice on writing.  I still do that, and look at writing blogs recommended by my writer’s group.  The last one I read is Writer Unboxed by Jane Friedman.  It is the last one I read because she advocated making more time to write by prioritizing, and one of the specifics was to stop reading writing advice.   It is an excellent post, and you can find it here.

New Year’s Eve is traditionally the time to agonize over resolutions for the coming year.  There is no agony involved for me, because my goals have not changed.  I’ve realized the novel I started for NaNoWriMo is, at 50,432 words, Part I of a novel.  I need to work on the plotting and pace and when I’m satisfied that it’s viable, write Part II.  Then there’s the Valentine’s Day short story I started that needs to be finished so I can submit it for next year.  Rinse and repeat.

The major thing I’ve learned in 2011 is that writing is a job.  Whether it’s a full-time job or a part-time job is up to me.  That this it involves a possible paycheck sometime in the future does not relegate this endeavor to a hobby.  This does not mean it can’t be a hobby, but for me it is not.  I also make jewelry.  That is my hobby.  I love to do it when I can.  Writing is as necessary to me as breathing, and truth to tell, I’m just not a happy camper if I’m not actively doing it – not all day, just a lot.

When I’m not writing, whether it’s outlining, first drafting or editing, I’m thinking about it.  Characters, plot devices, motivations and conflicts are whirling through my head, and the only way to make them stop is to anchor them to a page.  When I don’t apply myself to writing as much as I need to, I suffer self-recrimination.  That is just no way to be.

So if I have to decide on one thing to be resolute about in 2012 and beyond, it’s to quit with the recriminations and apply my fingers to the keyboard.  Like now.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tina
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 15:27:08

    Happy New Year! Again! :o)
    I’m praying for your writing to be all that it has potential to be for you THIS YEAR!
    My resolutions? I’ll take your words and say “Rinse and Repeat”. Same ol’ same ol’ . I need a fresh wind! :o)

    ~Tina

    Reply

  2. C J Gorden
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 22:52:10

    Thank you Tina! Happy New Year to you too! All I can say is, “From your lips to God’s ears,” and then maybe to my fingertips. Heh heh heh. To continue the float-your-boat metaphore, may God fill your sails with the wind you need too.

    Reply

  3. Joann Gmyrek
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 21:40:31

    You truly are a writer. Your words are captivating and entertaining. I’m a fan, but I’m jealous. :o)

    Reply

  4. C J Gorden
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 18:33:09

    Aw shucks, Joann. Thank you! And don’t be. Heh heh heh.

    Reply

  5. Tina
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 23:26:07

    Hi CJ!
    Was thinking about our conversation this morning about where to keep our thoughts and ideas for writing/blogging or just plain good stuff we don’t want to forget–quotes/ideas etc. Thought you might like to check out some thoughts on Commonplace books. I find it so interesting and thought you might too? http://www.marksinthemargin.blogspot.com
    Are we too far for a morning cuppa something??

    Reply

  6. C J Gorden
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 12:09:07

    Hey Tina! Sorry to take so long to get back to you. I did read the Marks in the Margin blog and thought it was awesome. Thanks for pointing me that direction! A morning cuppa is on my To Do list. First on my list, however is to breathe in and breathe out without spasmodic coughing. Still working on that one. Soon, though. Very soon.

    Reply

  7. Michael Fishman
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 12:21:09

    Congratulations on finishing NaNoWriMo! That’s an accomplishment to be proud of. I see you haven’t blogged much yet this year so hopefully that means you’re too busy writing!

    Reply

  8. C J Gorden
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 14:24:05

    Thank you Michael, for your comment and encouragement. Sorry to say I’ve had two bouts of sickness – comes from having preschool-age grandchild in the house. 😛 Then a death in the family had us driving 1700 miles without much warning. Hoping to get a post up within the next couple of days. Just found out how to turn my iPhone into a hot spot. Who knew! If I’d realized I could do that earlier, I wouldn’t be so far behind. And I’m supposed to be the geek in the family – well, maybe geekette. As for writing, I’m doing some one-on-one critiquing with someone, but until I got on line, it just wasn’t practical to do it on the iPhone. Now that I’m online and the visiting has slowed, I’m on it again. I also visited your site and contributed a couple of comments. Great site!

    Reply

Talk to me.

