Monday’s Kick-Ass Prompt of the Week (KAPOW)

Up to now my loose goal for this blog as been two posts per month.  As a goal, it’s too loose for an inveterate procrastinator.  Good intentions with no structure become only good intentions, and we all know how that works out.  My February 10, 2012 post was all about “life” getting in the way of writing, so no need to rehash that.

Onward and upward.

My new plan has two parts.  Every Monday from now on is KAPOW day.  I don’t know about you, but I love writing prompts.  The strangest things appear on my keyboard when I finish something somebody else started.  I end up going somewhere I never would have gone before.  In this case I hope you’ll be going somewhere you’ve never gone before if you decide to follow my prompt.  Some will be the finish-this-phrase type of prompt and others will be scenario prompts.  This week will be the latter.

In addition, Thursdays will be for general posts, continuing exposés of my struggles and occasionally (hopefully increasingly) my successes as a writer.  I’m hoping the addition of structure and the increase in frequency will help keep my creative juices flowing and keep bringing me back to writing even when “life” interferes.  In this context “life” equals “distractions” be they illness, family drama or the classic zombie attack.

This week’s prompt came to mind when something (can’t remember what any more) reminded me of Bob Newhart and his classic one-sided telephone calls.  For those who haven’t had the opportunity to hear them, here’s the only one I could find online:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i7YBaiJMnik&feature=related.

For those of you who can’t resist a challenge, here it is:

Write one side of a phone call.  The result is one-sided dialog that conveys a situation without the reader able to “hear” the other side of the conversation.  Try to keep it to 300 words or fewer, but if you have to go over, do it but be as concise as you can.

There are no losers.  Everyone who submits wins.  I’m taking a page from the NaNoWriMo book sans the stickers, certificates and merchandise.  You’ll have to be happy with bragging rights and a place to send friends and family to see a sample of your writing.

Send submissions to caroljgorden@gmail.com.  Put “KAPOW Submission” in the subject line.  They will be posted to the new KAPOW page as soon as I can get to them.  Make sure I know what name I should use for attribution.  I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with.  Comments are appreciated, especially positive comments.  Kind critique is also appreciated.  Mine is posted.

I am so excited I’m doing a low-level internal hum like a cell phone set on silent.  But I’m not.  Silent.   Heh.

 

FAMILY NEWS

by C J Gorden

Hey, bro!  What’s up?  Haven’t heard from you in ages.

Get out of town!

No lie?  You gotta be kidding me.

Yeah.  I wouldn’t  know what I do if it happened to me either.   I mean I’ve thought about it, dang, who hasn’t?  You just don’t really think it will happen to you, you know?  Never mind.  Of course you know.

Listen to what they tell you.  They’re the experts.  You can’t go it alone, bro, it’s too dangerous.

Yeah, I hear you.  News like that puts a real spin on your reality, dude.

So what can I do for you?  I’m glad you called and told me about it.  Anything I can do, I’ll be there for you.  You know that, right?  No pressure.

You’re making out a will?  Oh, man.  Now that there, that’s pressure.  I know I should make one too, but I keep putting it off, you know?  Never mind.  There I go again.  Of course you know.

How’s the better half handling it?

Yeah.  It would affect everybody in the family.  Huh.  I still can’t get over it.  You always know it could happen to you, but you never really believe it will.

Sure, bro.  I’ll let you go.  I’m sure you got a lot of calls to make.

Yup.  You do that.

Soon as I get off the phone I’m gonna go invest in some more Lotto tickets myself.  Dang, bro.  I’m happy for you!  Yeah, you too.  Bye now.

Talk to me.

