Monday’s Kick-Ass Prompt of the Week (KAPOW)

Last Thursday’s blog post was about responsibility in writing and being our own boss in a responsible manner.

This week’s prompt is to write something bossy in 300 words or fewer.  It can be from the POV (point of view) of the bossor or the bossee.

For last week’s prompt I had to rewrite several times then go over it ad nauseum to rid it of 60 words.  Then after one of the rewrites the word count became moot.  Sometimes it’s like that.  This time word count wasn’t an issue.  And sometimes it’s like that.

Send submissions to caroljgorden@gmail.com.  Put “KAPOW Submission” in the subject line.  They will be posted to the new KAPOW page as soon as I can get to them.  Make sure I know what name I should use for attribution.  I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with.  Comments are appreciated.  Kind critique is also appreciated.  My submission is posted on the KAPOW Submissions page.  When the new week’s prompt submission is posted the past week’s submissions will be moved to that month’s KAPOW sub-page.

 

THE ULTIMATUM

by C J Gorden

Tipping her head back as far as it would go, she screamed her frustration to the rafters.  When she was out of breath, she brought her attention back to the miscreant before her.

“Don’t you give me that look,” she said through gritted teeth.  “You did that on purpose.  And don’t even try giving me those goo-goo eyes.  You knew what you were doing.  How many times do we have to go through this?  I’ve had it.  I’m done.  And what are you going to do if I quit playing this game with you, huh?  You’ll suffer, that’s what.”

She studied her charge to see what, if any, effect her words were having.  What she saw was not encouraging.  Throwing up her hands, she said, “I’m going to give you one more chance.  Try that again with me and you’re out of here.  You’re not indispensable you know.”  She considered that and softened a bit.  Then she straightened her back and issued her ultimatum.

“I’m going to the house to wash this bucket.  Again.  When I get back here, you better stand there until I’m done and not put your freaking foot in the bucket again.  The neighbor has another nice dairy goat she’s more than willing to sell me and I’m really considering it.  Got it?”  On that, she stomped out of the barn and back up to the house.

Talk to me.

