Monday’s Kick-Ass Prompt of the Week (KAPOW)

The last post was about separating personal biases from those of your characters in your writing.  Today, in 300 words or fewer, write a piece that shows a character’s bias clearly.  It can be fiction or creative non-fiction and it doesn’t have to be negative, in fact let’s strive for the positive.

I’m simplifying the prompt posts by following the prompt with my answer to it.  Soon I will change the past posts to incorporate the pieces written for the post into the post itself instead of on a separate page.  Much simpler for you and for me.  When I update past posts, hopefully you won’t be inundated with notifications.  I’ll try and not let that happen.

If you decide to write a piece for the prompt and post it to your blog, please let me know  about it in a comment, or post the piece itself in a comment.   I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with.  Comments are appreciated.  Kind critique is also appreciated.

PERSPECTIVE

by C J Gorden

“We weigh the same,” said my daughter, Mandy, as she and her best friend, Naomi, came out of her room to look in the full-length hallway mirror.  “How come my jeans fall right off your hips?  It’s not fair.”  Looking over their shoulders comparing derrieres.  Naomi’s eyebrows were raised as if the reason for the mystery escaped her.  Mandy’s scowl said she just wanted her recently acquired hips to disappear.  Hmmm.

They’d come home on the bus together after school to get some girl time.  Later, after we’d taken Naomi home for supper, I broached the subject.

“So, did you guys have fun this afternoon?  What was going on when you were swapping jeans?”  Her scowl was instantly back.

“I’m getting fat.  Look at me.  All of a sudden my hips are huge!”

“Huge?  Why do you think they’re huge?”

“She’d have to wear a belt to keep my jeans up.  She’s not getting fat.  She has these little skinny hips, like I used to have.”

“I’ll let you in on a secret kiddo.  She’ll probably grow a woman’s hips too, if she’s lucky.  She’s just a late bloomer.”

“What’s that supposed to mean?”

I explained (again) how babies come into the world.  This time I included the mother’s bone structure in the hip area and how that relates.  She mulled that over silently and I left her to it.

Several days later, Mandy and Naomi were again trying on each other’s clothes.  Naomi pulled up Mandy’s jeans and let go, which promptly dropped past her posterior.  I heard Mandy’s laughter coming from just out of sight.  Her hand appeared, finger pointing at her friend.  “You are going to be in labor forever!”

Talk to me.

